Go To Search
Click to Home
How Do I
Dog License
Why Have a Dog License?
You might place an ad in the newspaper or you might distribute a flier in the neighborhood if you have lost your dog. But one of the most effective means to insure the return of a lost dog is to make certain the pet has a license. Not only is it a good idea, it’s the law.

Pennsylvanians who have failed to purchase yearly licenses for dogs three months of age or older are violating state law and could be fined up to $300 for each unlicensed dog.

Mr. Parrish and his colleagues in other counties will canvas Washington County municipalities during certain months each year. Wardens will prosecute the owners of dogs who have not been licensed.

While conducting their license canvases, state wardens also will check to see that all dogs and house cats three months of age or older have been vaccinated against rabies. Violations of the state’s rabies law can bring a fine of up to $300 a day. Get a license for your pet. It could prove to be its best friend.

Obtaining An Application or License
To download an application, refer to the downloads section to left of this page. You may bring the application to the Treasurers Office or mail it along, with payment to:
Washington County Treasurer
Courthouse Square
100 W. Beau St.
Suite 102
Washington, PA 15301

Dog licenses may be purchased online, Click here to purchase. For more information please call (724) 228-6780.

RSSPrintEmailFacebookTwitter