If you lost your dog, you might place an ad in the newspaper or distribute a flier in the neighborhood. Yet, one of the most effective means to insure the return of a lost dog is to make certain the pet is licensed.
For your convenience, lifetime dog license applications and Permanent Identification Verification forms are available to download. You may download these forms from our website, however you may not purchase the lifetime dog license online.
Please be aware that your dog must be micro chipped or tattooed in order to obtain a lifetime license. Also, your veterinarian must complete a portion of the Permanent Identification Verification form and this must accompany the completed Lifetime Dog License Application along with payment in order to purchase a lifetime license.
Pennsylvanians who have failed to purchase yearly licenses for dogs three months of age or older are violating state law and could be fined up to $300 for each unlicensed dog.
State Dog Warden and his colleagues in other counties will canvas Washington County municipalities during certain months each year. Wardens will prosecute the owners of dogs who have not been licensed. While conducting their license canvases, state wardens also will check to see that all dogs and house cats three months of age or older have been vaccinated against rabies. Violations of the state’s rabies law can bring a fine of up to $300 a day.